Sythyry (sythyry) wrote,
Sythyry
sythyry

(Diamond Chess, rev 2.)

kobolds did some playtesting, so I did some revisions: some textual, some to rules.

Diamond Chess

A couple people offered to playtest this, so here it is. World Tree's Diamond Chess is played on (usually) an 8x8 board, like a chessboard, but turned so that one point faces each player. There are four colors of squares:

  1. Black City (^): One corner is black; this is the black player's city. The white player wins by getting a piece into this square.
  2. White City (#): The opposite corner is white; the black player wins by getting a piece into it.
  3. River (~): The eight squares along the diagonal are the River, and colored blue. Special rules apply to them.
  4. Flats (.): The remaining squares are flats, unpainted, and have no particular behavior.
^ . . . . . . ~
. . . . . . ~ .
. . . . . ~ . .
. . . . ~ . . .
. . . ~ . . . .
. . ~ . . . . .
. ~ . . . . . .
~ . . . . . . #

Each side has ten pieces: one for each prime species, except three cani. At the start of the game, Black and White, in that order, alternate placing four pieces on the board, one in the town, the others in the three squares adjacent to the town. The remaining pieces are held in reserve. After that, Black takes the first turn.

A turn consists of:

  1. Optionally, mustering: taking a piece from reserve and putting it in your city, if your city is empty.
  2. Moving and/or using the powers of one species: that is, one piece, or 1-3 of the cani.

Play proceeds until one side has gotten a piece into the other's city. If, at any point, no pieces have been taken in seven turns, either player may ask for twelve turns to stalemate: if, after each player taking twelve more turns, no pieces have been taken, the game is a draw.

If, at the start of a turn, you have a piece in reserve and your city is empty, you may take a piece out of reserve and put it in your city. You may muster a piece and use it on the same turn if you wish.

Captures are either "by spear" (by moving the capturing piece onto the victim's square), or "by arrow" (in which the capturing piece takes a piece on an orthogonally or diagonally adjacent square before it moves, or instead of it moving.) Pieces capture by spear only unless otherwise stated.

The River: All pieces but the orren treat the river as a partial obstacle. If their move passes over a river square, they must stop on that square. (So, some diagonal moves are not obstructed by the river, others are. All orthogonal moves are obstructed by the river.) A non-orren piece that starts its move in the river must move out of the river on that move, or is taken. Pieces that can move diagonally or knightwise can cross the river in a single move

The cani: A solitary cani can move one square orthogonally. Two orthogonally-adjacent cani can each move 1-2 squares orthogonally. If all three cani are orthogonally adjacent in a line, each of them can move 1-3 squares orthogonally. If they are adjacent in a right triangle, each can move 1-4. This is one of the few ways to move more than one piece in a single turn. They do not need to wind up adjacent after moving. Cani capture by spear.

The gormoror: The gormoror moves 1-2 squares orthogonally. It can capture by arrow and by spear in the same move.

The herethroy: The herethroy moves any number of squares orthogonally. It captures by spear. It cannot be captured by arrow.

The khtsoyis: The khtsoyis moves 1 square orthogonally, and captures by spear. If it captures on its first move, it may act a second time, either moving or capturing. If it captures twice, it may capture a third time, though it may not move a third time if it is not a capture.

The orren: The orren may always move one square or "all the way" orthogonally (but nothing in between the two). "All the way" means going orthogonally until it can go no further: it may run into an edge of the board, or stop because the next square would contain a friendly piece, or stop because it has captured an enemy piece by spear. The orren may also stop in the river, if its move passes through the river. If the orren starts its turn in the river, it may move to any other river square as its move, including capturing a piece there by spear. The orren (o) can move to the *'d squares.

^ . * . . . . ~
. . * . . . ~ .
* * o * . * . .
. . * . ~ . . .
. . . ~ . . . .
. . * . . . . .
. ~ . . . . . .
~ . . . . . . #

An orren at one end of the river is extremely dangerous. It can move to the *'d places. Not only does it dominate the whole river, it also threatens to capture the opponent's city:

* . . . . . * o
. . . . . . * *
. . . . . * . .
. . . . * . . .
. . . * . . . .
. . * . . . . .
. * . . . . . .
* . . . . . . *

The rassimel: The rassimel moves one or two squares, orthogonally or diagonally. It captures by arrow only. In the following picture, the rassimel can capture or move to +'s; can move to *'s; and could move to _'s except that the river is in the way.

^ . . . . . . ~
. . . . . . ~ .
* . * . * ~ . .
. + + + ~ . . .
* + r + _ . . .
. + + + . . . .
* ~ _ . * . . .
~ . . . . . . #

The sleeth: The sleeth moves can move one or two squares orthogonally, or any number of squares diagonally, making it the most mobile piece. It captures by spear. (A sleeth placed on the diagonal line connecting the cities threatens a quick win.)

The zi ri: The zi ri moves one square orthogonally. It cannot capture. It has the power to teleport pieces that it can see. It can teleport one piece per turn, either before or after moving.

"Seeing" means that there is an orthogonal or diagonal line from the zi ri to the seen piece with no intervening pieces. A zi ri can always see and teleport itself. In this picture, the zi ri can see the three c's (and itself); it cannot see the three C's, or the H.

^ . . . . . . ~
. . H . . . ~ .
. . . . . ~ . .
. z . . ~ . c C
. . . ~ . . . .
. c ~ c . . . .
. ~ . . C . . .
~ C . . . . . #

Teleporting a piece means, picking it up and moving it in a knight's move to an unoccupied square. "Knight's move" is as in standard chess: it will move two spaces orthogonally and then one in the other orthogonal direction. In this picture, the zi ri can teleport the cani to the *'d squares.

^ . . . . . . ~
* . * . . . ~ .
. . . * . ~ . .
. c . z ~ . . .
. . . * . . . .
* . * . . . . .
. ~ . . . . . .
~ . . . . . . #

  1. The zi ri can teleport a piece into the river. As usual, if it is not an orren, the piece must leave the river on its next move or be lost.
  2. The zi ri can teleport a piece into either city. Teleporting a friendly piece into the enemy city wins the game.
  3. The zi ri can teleport a piece from one side of the river to the other. The teleported piece does not stop its move in the river.
  4. The zi ri's teleportation ignores intervening pieces.
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 11 comments